I Am A Lunchlady

I am a  lunchlady.

For those of you who may not know what that means, it means that I work in a cafeteria with middle school and high school students. I don’t actually do any of the cooking, but I monitor and clean up and occasionally serve the food. I break up fights and mop up spills and try to make sure everybody eats something. 

It also means I have sensible shoes, an unflattering uniform, and a constant concern that I smell vaguely of day-old broccoli. 

It means digging through garbage cans for lost retainers. Wiping a sticky substance off a table and praying it’s not snot — or worse. Trying (and failing) not to laugh when a middle schooler sculpts a banana into a disturbingly realistic penis. Being pelted with flying fruit; one kid hit me with an orange and proceeded to apologize with such charm that I ended up praising him for his aim.

That kid is going places in life. 

You know what else it means? It means I love my job. 

These kids ….

When the resident “tough guy” calls me Mom, I melt. When the shy girl finally makes eye contact and whispers “Hi, Miss” on  her way past, I can’t help but grin like a fool. Every time that group of eighth grade boys inexplicably greet me by shouting “HI, DAD!” I respond by throwing my arms out and shouting back, “Hello, my beautiful daughters!”

I’ll admit I get a little nervous when I see the girl who likes to greet me with a robust, “Hey, Miss, did you know … “ before hitting me with some bit of mind-blowing trivia, like how many bananas will fit inside the anus of a monkey. 

The answer is two, by the way. 

Gotta admit, I worry about that kid.

These kids … 

I know every face that comes into the cafeteria. I wish I could say I know every name, but there are a lot of kids and let’s face it, I’m not as young as I used to be. There are days when I’m lucky to remember the names of my own children. But I learn as many names as possible, and when I can’t remember a name, I say “kiddo” or make up a nickname. I’m not sure how Jellybean and Allegan feel about their nicknames, but Killer seems happy with his. 

I laugh with them and I scold them and I write them up when I have to. And I enjoy every one of them, even the naughty ones and the disrespectful ones and the ones who smell like stale body odor smothered in too many layers of Axe body spray. They make it worth the sticky tables and retainer hunts and fly-by fruitings. 

These kids …

We lost one of our kids this past weekend. He took his own life. 

I just can’t …

… I don’t …

I want to travel back to last week and look at him one more time. Really look at him. I want to try to see whatever it is I missed. Did he give any of us any kind of sign? 

Did we fail our kid?

Did I fail our kid?

The faces in my cafeteria this week have changed. They are scared. Lost. Angry. Not just the kids’ faces; I’m seeing the same looks on the faces of my fellow lunchladies, teachers, administrators. Everyone seems shell-shocked. 

They’re handling it as well as can be expected, I suppose. There are grief counselors on hand, of course, and everyone is watching our kids with eagle eyes. The teachers and administrators are doing a fantastic job of swallowing their own grief long enough to make sure our kids are doing okay. 

And the lunchladies?

We’re handing out smiles with the cheeseburgers.  We’re making eye contact and calling the kids by name, and we are doing everything in our power to communicate without words to each child: “We are here and we care.”

“Please, talk to someone if you are struggling.”

“Please let us help you.”

These kids …

…sometimes they break our hearts.

Author: A.J. Goode

I am a romance novelist, single mother of three, and a high school lunchlady. To be completely honest, I have no idea which of those jobs is the most rewarding and which is the biggest challenge. I love them all. I write romance novels about the kind of people who might pass me on the street every day. My characters are often hurting in some way, and need to learn to trust others in order to heal themselves. I also blog about trying to focus on writing, and about my day-to-day experiences in small-town America. I write about life. The good, the bad, and the just plain odd.

7 thoughts on “I Am A Lunchlady”

  1. You must be gutted. His poor family. Thank you for writing this very important reminder that we never really know what’s going on in others’ lives. I shall hug my two tightly when I next see them. Sending you a jumbo hug.

    Like

  2. Thank you for the work you do, for the love and kindness you show to each and every kid. I believe my son is the one you call jelly bean. I asked him. “Why does she call you that?” He says “I don’t know but it’s cool” this week has been a nightmare for the kids and I am sure most parents, like me are feeling useless to meet the emotional needs of our teenagers while dealing with our own grief and sadness over this tragedy. How do we protect them from the heartbreak?
    To know that their are people like you that aknowledge and care for our kids is such a blessing.
    Thank you for everything you and the rest of the faculty do for our kids. ❤️

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, your son is Jellybean. 😁 Someone once handed him one of those nasty-tasting joke jelly beans, and he was just too polite to spit it out or even complain. He ate it with the most disgusted expression on his face, and I’ve called him Jellybean ever since.

      Like

  3. A poignant and heartfelt epiphany. I’ve not yet read all your published words but cannot imagine any better. Bless you for sharing this. Yesterday before the afternoon bus run I wrote my phone number above the service door and asked my kids to call me if they ever needed someone to talk to. Choked up on my words. It has been a rough week.

    Like

    1. John, I am so sorry I didn’t include bus drivers in my post! You guys are hurting this week too, and I should have mentioned that.

      It was an honor to work with you and Tom and the others last spring delivering meals to the kids. Bus drivers are a big part of our kids’ lives too — my two adult children still speak fondly about Herb and Sylvia and Larry as part of their childhood!

      Thank you for all you do to keep our kids safe. ❤

      Like

  4. My youngest daughter is also a lunch lady..so was my mother. I sent a copy of this to my daughter. Not only are you an amazing writer..you have a huge heart and soul. I love your hilarious books..but..sometimea we need to read something like this..to take a step back, and reconnect with those around us. If for no other reason than to make sure they are okay. We don’t see all the signs when they are not. Maybe we aren’t meant to sometimes…maybe they are just that good at masking their emotions. I have always believed that all humans need to practice love instead of hate. If not for us adults..then for our children. Sending hugs and prayers to everyone affected in your school ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Got an opinion? Please share it here